Week 1 in Review

Chipotle-glazed squash skewers by 20something cupcakes
Chipotle-glazed squash skewers by this week’s host, Sarah of 20something cupcakes. Follow Sarah on twitter and facebook!

We did it! Kicked off The Food Matters Project with a bang, that is. Sarah and I are thrilled by your support and participation, and we loved seeing each member’s take on the same recipe. Skewer or no skewer, I think most of us fell in love with Mr. Bittman’s spicy and sweet chipotle-honey glaze upon first bite.

Here are some quick notes and updates:

  • For a visual representation of our member’s posts, check out the new FMP Pinterest board.
  • Connect and share with other participants on our facebook page. Feel free to tag the FMP when you share your post on facebook so it shows up on our feed!
  • Twitter users, our official hashtag is #thefoodmattersproject. Find and follow other members through Sarah’s FMP twitter list (if you’re not on the list yet, please tweet Sarah and let her know!).
  • Members, you’re welcome to post our new badge on your blog! You can find the image and the necessary code in our sidebar.
  • Reminder: Next Monday, I (Kate!) am hosting the next recipe, which is seasoned popcorn (page 38). Once you post your recipe, be sure to come back to our website and share a link to your post in the comments section.

Last but not least, we are giving away two copies of The Food Matters Cookbook, thanks to Simon & Schuster! For a chance to win, leave a comment below. Tell us why food matters to you, or about your favorite healthy meal, or share a cooking tip or trick. Only one comment per person, please.

The fine print: You have until midnight CST on Monday, February 13th, to leave your comment for a chance to win. We will notify the winners by email on Tuesday; each winner must reply within 7 days with a valid mailing address or we will randomly select another winner. Good luck!

Update 2/14: Carli and Radhi have won our copies of the cookbook! Thank you to all who entered!

31 thoughts on “Week 1 in Review

  1. I love this new movement! My boyfriend and I started about a month ago to try and eat more vegetarian/vegan recipes because we’ve seen some documentaries recently on how bad meat can be in your diet and the amazing effects veganism has had on people! I don’t know if I’ll ever be completely vegan but I figure eating this way more often is better than nothing! šŸ™‚ Kate’s blog “Cookie & Kate” has started me off fabulously and I’ve made many of her recipes already and LOVE them all!! Keep up the good work!

  2. Cool project! My husband and I are doing a Paleo 30 day challenge- 16 days in-no processed food, sugars, etc and we feel GREAT! Interested in learning more about this book- as the Paleo diet does ‘encourage’ meat for protein- however, there is ALWAYS room for more vegetables! I imagine that if eating real food makes us feel better, the earth feels better too! šŸ˜‰

  3. This is an inspiring project! I can honestly say that I don’t have the best eating habits and I’m looking to improve in that area by incorporating MORE veggies and water daily and less sugary, processed foods (which will be enormously difficult as I am all about baking). I know it’s important for my family to be fed properly, too, and a huge part of that has to come from me. Thanks for encouraging and raising awareness through this project… I’m bookmarking now to keep up with you all šŸ™‚

  4. Oh my… I would really love to win the cookbook! I agree with the principles of eating less meat and processed foods and try to keep a “clean” diet. I LOVE this project and can’t wait to follow along.

  5. I love Mark Bittman, and I love this project! As a food-obsessive, I am constantly struggling to keep a healthy, balanced diet that’s fun to play with and still tastes great. I would love this book!

  6. Oh I’m really excited to find your page. Our family is in need of this but I’m definitely overwhelmed so this is sooo helpful. Thank you for sharing and caring.

  7. I would love to win a copy of the cookbook! Mark Bittman is my absolute favorite food writer/cookbook author. Also, I’m hoping to join in the fun when I can. Matters of food, if you will have become a lot more important to me now that I am a parent. I am very concerned about the food my daughter eats and I want to ensure it’s the best quality as well as nutritious.

  8. Pingback: what’s new with me (and a giveaway!) « salt & pepper

  9. Oddly enough, I do not own a Mark Bittman cookbook. I think that makes me a perfect candidate to win one! šŸ˜‰ Seriously, I learned about him through the One the road Again- Spain series, and he was such a darling. And have seen his programs on tv but this is my first endeavor into his cooking, so I am really looking forward to it. Way to kick off the project!

  10. Food matters to me because our lives revolve around it. Food brings nourishment to our bodies, gives us joy in preparing it, and brings family and friends together. I take happiness and pride in what I cook and always like to share my love for food to people around me.

  11. Loving this project! I’m always looking for recipes that are healthy and flavorful. The cookbook looks wonderful. I might have to get it so I can follow along myself!

  12. This project is super exciting. I have a little family and we are currently living in Mexico and I am determined to continue cooking healthy and interesting meals! Tacos are everywhere…haha, so my only hope is to make sure that every meal is delicious as well as healthy. I’d love to have a cookbook to help me out – I actually don’t own a SINGLE cookbook. Eeek?!

  13. “Drink you way to a healthier you”

    We had bought a “Green Star” Juicer years ago & it remained sad & very lonely for a few years in our garage. Finally we resurrected it & starting making our own juices.
    Now we are fully addicted & we go hard core with many different varieties of kale then add lots of celery, parsley, ginger, lemon, cucumber, green apple, romaine lettuce, spinach & a little habanero chili. If you have been bad ( think party time! ) then its best to add a small amount of dandelion leaves…..Watch out…………as they are really bitter, so if you have been really bad……………. then “pucker up”. Your liver will thank you big time!
    Juicing is really addictive & my husband who swore he would never touch it, is now is drinking it every day before work & loves it. You must buy the best organic vegetables, it’s simply not worth it otherwise. It is a lot of work to make the juices but it is definitely worth the effort. If you do not want to do it yourself, then I recommend a top notch company like “Ritual Cleanse” in the Orange County area. I think they will deliver in LA area also.

  14. Food matters is for sure from seed to table, have a organic farm in MI, thanks for caring and always looking for new things to share with customers!

  15. I just found out about this project and I love it! I have always tried to eat healthfully (but I must admit a fondness for baking which gets me into trouble….) I have spent a lot of time trying to make some of our favourite meals healthier, as well as finding creative ways to use the produce we grow in our garden. I can never narrow my recipes down to a favourite, but taking my cue from the recipe this week, my favourite way to cook squash is peeled and cut up in chunks, tossed with olive oil, minced garlic, and a little parmesean, and then baked at 400 for about an hour – yum!

  16. What a great project to start! I wish more people would be inspired to cook food that actually matters in their diet rather that succumb to quick and easy route, which we all know typically lacks in nutritional value. For my husband and I, food is our fuel for our active lifestyles and anything we put into our bodies must enhance our well being and replace everything we lose through our workouts. Although I’m vegetarian and he’s not, he still limits his meat intake and tries to replace it with health alternatives that not only provide the protein he needs but add additional nutrients.

    My current favorite recipe to get me going in the morning is my Overnight Oats. I mix 1/2 cup of oatmeal (not the quick oats), 1 tablespoon of chia seeds, 1 tablespoon bulgar wheat, 2 tablespoons steel cut oaks, and 5-8 almonds, and cover with almond milk. Soak overnight and enjoy with a sliced banana in the morning. This has been the only thing that keeps the hunger away for most of the morning. You can always substitute other grains or nuts in this dish and it’s completely changeable based on what you have in your pantry.

  17. I love Mark Bittman’s recipes, but I don’t own any of his cookbooks… šŸ˜‰
    I particularly like the way that Bittman integrates healthy recipes for both vegetarians and carnivores. My family are prolific meat eaters and own a large poultry business. We eat chicken almost every day, even for Christmas and Thanksgiving! I became a vegetarian at 16, much to my family’s dismay, but I’m gradually converting them to a more “earth-friendly” and healthy diet by cooking up simple, tasty recipes like Bittman’s!

  18. I love this project and am so excited to be a part of it!! I recently found out that I’m allergic to milk and eggs so I have given them up (for the most part). I’ve never been a huge meat eater, but I usually have about one serving per day. I feel so much better and have way more energy when I eat clean, whole foods. I’m excited to learn more recipes and feel even better through this project!

  19. so excited i’ve found you guys and can’t wait to join along! since i got “how to cook everything vegetarian” last year, bittman has been a constant and a favorite!

  20. Pingback: seasoned popcorn « salt & pepper

  21. Pingback: Food Matters Project #2: Seasoned Popcorn | Fifthfloorkitchen's Blog

  22. Food matters! When you don’t eat well your body becomes weak with a propensity to illness. That’s what happened to me. I was a junk eater and ended up with rheumatoid arthritis. After many years I learned to take care of my body by exercising and eating well, and the arthritis is in remission. But, now I worry about my son who is 21 and studying out of state. He is overweight and unhealthy but he is ready so make some changes in the way he eats. I would love to win the Food Matters Cookbook to give to my son so he can cook healthy meals for himself at his college dorm.

  23. Am I able to post my photos to the Pinterest board? Or are they added to the board by Kate or Sarah only? Thanks!

    Also, please include me in the drawing for the cookbook. Thanks!

  24. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favourite reason seemed to be at the net the easiest thing to remember of. I say to you, I certainly get irked whilst folks think about concerns that they plainly don’t understand about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and outlined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be again to get more. Thank you

Leave a Comment

